Atreus Dawn

In early 1998, Georg, Abi, and I wrote Atreus Dawn, a ritual electronic musical that retold the story of Iphegenia’s sacrifice at the hands of her father, Agamemnon. The musical was performed on main stage Leeds Theater at Brown University.

We wrote Atreus Dawn because collectively we hated anything and everything to do with musicals. But if you can’t beat ‘em, join ‘em. We decided that if musicals had to exist, there might as well be a euro-techno meets crack-clowns-and-dancing-bears musical in the world.

Just in case you’re wondering: no, Atreus Dawn wasn’t very good. But it was a lot of fun to write and produce.

Download the Full Cast Recordings (Bonus 3).

Eric Green, who designed Atreus Dawn’s abstract geometric set, keeps his own page of photographs and related information.

(You may notice some vocals and even some singing on the “instrumentals.” The vocals are of Den Mother, a character never seen on stage and hence pre-recorded and mixed directly with the tracks. The singing is in the background and helped ensure proper sonic balance during live performances; the cast typically duplicated the recorded lines but occasionally sang counterpoint.)

Track Listing

  1. Overture
  2. Dreams, Lies
  3. Ritual to the Den Mother
  4. Dreams, Lies Again
  5. The Letter Home
  6. Queen of His World
  7. Falling Music
  8. Underworld Ballet
  9. Tales from a Sleeping Goddess
  10. Mother’s Hymn
  11. Atreus Dawn
  12. Second Act Overture
  13. Dreams, Lies Yet Again
  14. Mighty King
  15. The Letter Home (reprise)
  16. Clytemnestra’s Fantasy
  17. Tales from a Sleeping Goddess
  18. The Love of a Half-God
  19. The Argument
  20. Pythia’s Passion
  21. Surprise! Dreams, Lies
  22. Ritual to the Den Mother
  23. Aria